Nish Shah, MD
Resident member chose family medicine long before medical school


TAFP members appointed to AAFP commissions

Three TAFP members have been appointed to AAFP commissions. Justin Bartos III, M.D., has been appointed to a four-year term on the Commission on Membership and Member Services; Tricia Elliott, M.D., has been appointed to a four-year term on the Commission on Education; and Charles Willnauer has been appointed to a one-year term on the Commission on Governmental Advocacy as the commission’s student representative.

Bartos currently serves as medical director of the David Pillow Senior Health Clinic and as a physician for Medical Clinic of North Texas – North Richland Hills. He previously practiced for more than 25 years at North Hills Family Medicine, providing multigenerational care in the private practice setting.

Elliott is the director of the University of Texas Medical Branch Family Medicine Residency Program. She also serves UTMB’s Department of Family Medicine as an associate professor and as vice chair for clinical affairs.

Willnauer is a third-year medical student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine in Lubbock. He is a participant in the Family Medicine Accelerated Track, which culminates in a medical degree in three years for students interested in pursuing family medicine. Willnauer is also pursuing an MBA in Health Organization Management.

Click here for for information.

American  Academy of Family Physicians’ 2013 Public Health Awardee

David Buck, M.D., professor of family medicine at Baylor College of Medicine and president and founder of Healthcare for the Homeless-Houston, was awarded the American Academy of Family Physicians’ 2013 Public Health Award “for making extraordinary contributions to the nation’s public health issues.” More than 10,000 homeless individuals each year receive primary care, psychiatric and counseling services, dental care, and support services through Healthcare for the Homeless-Houston, which has been named one of the best Federally Qualified Healthcare Centers for homeless persons in the United States.

For more information on Dr. Buck’s success, visit Texas Medical Center website. 
This section of the website is dedicated to Harris County Academy of Family Physicians members and their accomplishments in the medical community.
Member Recognition
The TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine is a multi-level award program developed to give special recognition to academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models, and medical professionals. Drs. Troy Fiesinger and Lindsay K. Botsford, both with Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program received recognition and awards.